You are here: Home About Us Staff and board

Board and Staff

Explorit is governed by a volunteer board of directors and operated by a professional staff with the assistance of many loyal volunteers.

Explorit Board of Directors

Our trustees (members of the Board of Directors) are elected to two year terms. They represent a geographical area that roughly represents our service area and they represent many areas of science, business, and professional expertise. Each trustee is required to make an annual cash contribution. Officers are elected at the Annual Meeting to one year terms.

Explorit Board Mission

Through proper and effective governance and stewardship to enable Explorit to carry out its programmatic mission throughout the area.

Officers of the Board

  • President: Sheila Allen
  • Vice-President: Phyllis Himmel
  • Secretary: Robert Tyzzer
  • Treasurer: Hal Brunette

Members of the Board

  • Sheila Allen, Ph.D., President, Past - Davis Joint Unified School District Board Member, Davis CA; Present – Executive Director, Yolo Healthy Aging Alliance, local non-profit 
  • Michael Blankinship, MS, PE,  President, Blankinship & Associates, Davis, CA
  • Hal Brunette
  • Phyllis Himmel, Ph.D., Seed Biotechnology Center, UC Davis, Davis, CA 95616
  • Ingrid Salim
  • Aaron Stephens
  • Robert N. Tyzzer III, Ph.D., Secretary, Retired Anthropology professor, science teacher and Explorit educator, Davis, CA

Honorary Board Member: Evelyn Buddenhagen, M.S., Microbiology, Past Explorit Program Director

[See the Board Handbook and Bylaws for details about the functions of the board and its members.]

Document Actions
Personal tools